The Overwatch League 2021 season is beginning to take shape and is set to kick-off in April, 2021. Jon Spector, VP - Overwatch eSports shared the details about Overwatch League 2021 Season. Let’s see what's new for the Overwatch League in 2021.

Format and Schedule:

Regular season play will be organized into four cycles of tournament. Each cycle will consist of four matches to determine the qualifying team for the next tournament. The teams have been divided into two groups, East and West, based on their location for the season. Regular season qualifiers and tournament eligibility will be based on competition within each group. The top qualifying teams from the West will travel to Hawaii to compete against the top qualifying teams from the East.


The East group consists of eight teams competing in South Korea and China: Los Angeles Valiant, the Chengdu Hunters, Shanghai Dragons, Hangzhou Spark, Philadelphia Fusion, New York Excelsior, Guangzhou Charge, and Seoul Dynasty.

The West group consists of twelve teams competing in North America and Europe: Boston Uprising, the Atlanta Reign, Toronto Defiant, Florida Mayhem, Houston Outlaws, Vancouver Titans, London Spitfire, Paris Eternal, Los Angeles Gladiators, San Francisco Shock, Dallas Fuel, and Washington Justice.

Overwatch League will use the minimum latency technology to ensure a level playing field for the competing teams from all over the world. New servers have also been deployed to keep the completion fair. 

Overwatch is also working on improvements to the match broadcasts, such as a newly redesigned graphics package, a new and improved virtual set, and changes in display format to emphasize more on match play. Jon Spector announced that the team is working on highly requested spoiler-free viewer mode for and he also informed that Overwatch has partnered with IBM to enhance the interface that is used by the fans to interact with teams, players, and stats.

Stay tuned for more updates on the 2021 Overwatch League.